Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely.

“Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely.” – Auguste Rodin

I came across this quote the other day while waiting to read an article on Forbes.com. It stuck out to me for a couple reasons.

Everything we do is important

This quote is basically saying that everything we do is important as long as we are willing to learn from it. I am not the most reflective person out there, but I read all over the place that we should be reflecting on what is happening in our lives as often as possible so that we can learn more from our experiences. So, next time you are doing something that you think you are wasting your time, just remember that as long as you are learning something that you can apply in the future, you are in good hands and it’s not wasted.

Action is key

The second part of the quote is the most important part. “If you use the experience wisely” can be taken different ways to different people. But, as long as I am using the experience to gain something that will move me forward in life, I might have to go through some meaningless tasks to get there.

Working as an outside sales rep as well as a cell phone technician, there are many things that I do that others may view as a waste of time. I am constantly reading new material and news about the devices that I am selling and supporting. I then am able to use this information to solve real world problems quicker then if I hadn’t been reading about the current problems and features of the devices.

Another example is buying new devices for the hands on experience. I know that one of the best ways to be able to sell something is if you are using it yourself and can educate on the features and benefits that it would provide. I try to seek out as many options as possible to get myself some hands on time with many different devices so that I can get the feel for how they work, what I like, etc.

Overall, just keep the big picture in mind! Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

